Home / Australia / 150th Melbourne Cup

150th Melbourne Cup

Australia post issued a set of stamps to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the Melbourne Cup, raced annually at Flemington Racecourse.

At the race’s establishment in 1861, some claimed its handicap conditions would encourage mediocrity on the track. How wrong they were, for the Melbourne Cup soon became the centrepiece of the Australian racing calendar and it has long since been known as “the race that stops the nation”.

The featured winners are Carbine, who, just before the severe economic collapse of the 1890s, emerged as the 1890 Cup winner and became one of Australia’s greatest race horses ever; Phar Lap, who won in 1930 and was embraced as the “equine saviour”, lifting the spirits of the nation as it felt the bite of the Great Depression; and Saintly, known as the “Horse from Heaven” and trained by Bart Cummings, the man who defines the modern era of the Melbourne Cup, who triumphed in 1996.

Title: 150th Melbourne Cup
Date of Issue: 1 November 2010
Country: Australia
Denominations: 60c x 4

Source: www.stamps.com.au

One comment

  1. cheers to melbourne cup’s 150th!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *