Home / India / Famous musicians of India

Famous musicians of India

India post issued a set of three stamps featuring famous musicians of India.

T.N.Rajaratnam Pillai, the Nagaswara Chakravarti (emperor) hailed from Tiruvadudurai in Tanjavur District. His gurus in Nagaswaram were his uncle Tirumarugal Natesa Pillai and later, Tiruvadudurai Markandam Pillai. Endowed with a very fine voice, he also learnt vocal music from Tirukkodikaval Krishna Iyer. His playing was marked with brilliance, be it racy renditions or slow explorations. His exquisite and soulful playing covered the entire gamut, displaying the different shades and subtleties of the raga, thus revealing the total panorama. He was so popular that a large number of Nagaswaram youngsters were named Rajaratnam.

Thanjavur Balasaraswathi was a celebrated Indian dancer, and her rendering of Bharatanatyam, a classical dance style, made this style of dancing of South India well known in different parts of India, as also many parts of the world.

Veenai Dhanammal was a highly accomplished Carnatic musician, and the torchbearer of the school of Carnatic music that goes by her name. She was both a vocalist and a performer on the veena. The prefix “Veenai” in her name is an indicator of her exceptional mastery of that instrument.

Title: Famous musicians of India
Date of Issue: 3 December 2010
Country: India
Denominations: 500p x 3

Source: www.indiapost.gov.in


  1. Sekhar Chakrabarti

    The most appropriate Headlines for the three stamps issued on December 03,2010 featuring the South Indian musicians would have been “FAMOUS MUSICIANS OF TAMILNADU” issued by “Tamilnadu Post”.
    With apology to ‘India Post’ and the deserving ‘Musicians of India’.
    Sekhar Chakrabarti

  2. Cdr G.Sriramarao,I.N(Retd)

    I fully agree with you. I wish India post stops the mockery of issuing nearly 30 stamps only related to Tamilnadu and Tamil greats and considers the rest of the states also as part of this country.

    It is a pity that stamp on our late prime minister P.V.Narasimharao and President Neelam sanjiva Reddy have not been issued so far in spite of the fact they died long back and stalwarts of congress, where as the stamp on one chief minister who died was issued just within one year all from Congress!!

  3. Indipex Programme search has so far not yeilded results from The Philatelic Bureau and other sources. Count down of a fortnight to Indipex. See you there !! C D SINGH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *