Home / Australia / Islands of Australia
Islands of Australia

Islands of Australia

Australian islands are the source of some of our most stunning and diverse terrain. The Islands of Australia stamp issue presents four Australian islands at ground level, to highlight their natural, yet distinct, beauty.

Featured are Phillip Island in Victoria, Lady Musgrave Island in Queensland, Bruny Island in Tasmania and the Buccaneer Archipelago in Western Australia, itself a collection of around 1,000 islands off the Kimberley Coast.

The stamps present the spectacular Horizontal Falls at Talbot Bay, in the Buccaneer Archipelago, which are the result of some of the highest tides in the world pushing through small cliff gaps.

There’s the coral-filled navigable lagoon surrounding Lady Musgrave Island. And we present the 360-degree views from Truganini’s Lookout at the Neck, a sandy isthmus that separates North Bruny and South Bruny. We also feature a lovely view of the Pinnacles, from the rugged and rocky Cape Woolamai at Phillip Island.

Australia has more than 8,000 islands with an area span of over 30,000 square kilometres.

Islands of Australia

Title: Islands of Australia
Date of Issue: 2 June 2015
Country: Australia
Denominations: 2 x 70c, 1 x $1.40, 1 x $2.10

Source: www.auspost.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.