Home / Poland / Polish Birds – Owls
Polish Birds - Owls

Polish Birds – Owls

Polish post issued a miniature sheet having four amazing stamps featuring Owls, as a part of Polish birds stamps series.

Each stamps shows a very close view of Owls, with complete view on the tab.

Polish Birds – Owls

The birds featured on stamps are Eagle owl, Tengmalm’s owl, Barn owl and Great grey owl.

The eagle-owl
The eagle-owl (Bubo bubo), also called Eurasian eagle-owl, is a species of eagle-owl that resides in much of Eurasia.

It is one of the largest species of owl, and females can grow to a total length of 75 cm (30 in), with a wingspan of 188 cm (6 ft 2 in), males being slightly smaller.

This bird has distinctive ear tufts, with upper parts that are mottled with darker blackish colouring and tawny and the wings and tail are barred.

The underparts are a variably hued buff, streaked with darker colour. The facial disc is poorly developed and the orange eyes are distinctive.

The Tengmalm’s owl
The boreal owl (Aegolius funereus) is a small owl. In Europe, it is typically known as Tengmalm’s owl after Swedish naturalist Peter Gustaf Tengmalm.

This species is a part of the larger grouping of owls known as typical owls, Strigidae, which contains most species of owl.

The other grouping is the barn owls, Tytonidae. Due to its shyness and evasive reaction to human activities, nocturnal habits and preferred inaccessible taiga forest habitat, it ranks as one of the, if not the, least known owls in both North America and Europe.

The barn owl
The barn owl (Tyto alba) is the most widely distributed species of owl, and one of the most widespread of all birds.

It is also referred to as the common barn owl, to distinguish it from other species in its family, Tytonidae, which forms one of the two main lineages of living owls, the other being the typical owls (Strigidae).

The barn owl is found almost everywhere in the world except polar and desert regions, Asia north of the Himalayas, most of Indonesia and some Pacific islands.

The great grey owl
The great grey owl (Strix nebulosa) is a very large owl, documented as the world’s largest species of owl by length.

It is distributed across the Northern Hemisphere. In some areas it is also called Phantom of the North, cinereous owl, spectral owl, Lapland owl, spruce owl, bearded owl, and sooty owl.

Polish Birds - Owls

Polish Birds - Owls

Polish Birds - Owls

Title: Polish Birds – Owls
Date of Issue: 23 October 2015
Country: Poland
Denominations: 2,35 zl x 4

Source: Polish Stamps

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.