Guernsey post issued a set of stamps and a souvenir sheet to celebrate Sark Fief 450 years.
The fascinating history of Sark is brought to life with a beautifully designed set of stamps and souvenir sheet featuring various historic events from dragon slaying to pirates and gold mines.
Sark Fief 450 years
Sark is the smallest of the four main Channel Islands in the southwestern English Channel. It is a royal fief, which forms part of the Bailiwick of Guernsey, with its own set of laws based on Norman law and its own parliament.
As Sark celebrates 450 years since the appointment of its first Seigneur, life on the tiny island with its strong community, lack of cars and immense natural beauty remains unique in the modern world.
It has a population of about 600. Sark has an area of 2.10 square miles.
Helier de Carteret was concerned about the continuous threat of the island being used as a refuge for pirates or Frenchmen.
Following proposals to Elizabeth I that he colonise the smaller island and secure it for the Crown, on 6 August 1565.
The Letters Patent from the Queen were signed creating the Fiefdom of Sark and Helier as its first Seigneur.
Depicted on the stamp is Saint Magloire who, in 565, landed on Sark from Brittany with 62 monks to establish a Christian monastery.
As well as miraculously curing the sick and rescuing a man from a giant conger eel’s jaws, his best-known role was as a dragon slayer.
Two hundred paroled French convicts landed under the command of Captain François Breuil in 1549, who with another 200 Frenchmen, built three forts on Sark.
In the 1830s silver and copper mining operations began on Little Sark, but when the venture failed it bankrupted Seigneur Pierre Le Pelley in 1852 who sold the Fief of Sark to the Collings family; their descendants have held the title ever since.
Title: Postage stamp to celebrate Sark Fief 450 years
Date of Issue: 22 July 2015
Denominations: 42p, 57p, 62p, 68p, 77p, £1, £2
Source: Guernsey Post