Home / Spain / Spanish Cinema

Spanish Cinema

The Spanish Cinema series aims at recalling the awards, films, actors and actresses in Spanish cinema. In this issue, the main characters are the 2010 Goya Awards to the best film.

The Goya awards were created in 1987 by the Academia de las Artes y de las Ciencias Cinematográficas de España (Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences of Spain) to award the best professionals of each speciality in film making. Since the first edition, the awards have grown in prestige and have endorsed the film making industry to the highest levels on the world stage. The Goya awards, considered to be the Spanish equivalent of the Oscars, take place every year in a ceremony organised by the Academy, similar to that of the Oscar awards. The awards are conferred by vote of each member of the Academy in recognition to the work of the previous year.

In this XXIV edition of the 2010 Goya awards take part all films released from December 1st 2008 to November 30th 2009. Overall 29 prizes are given, 28 corresponding to the different cinematic achievements such as best film, best director, best photography, best film editing…. and the honorary Goya in recognition to lifetime achievements.

The award is a small bronze statuette of the bust of painter Francisco de Goya made, since their 2nd edition, by sculptor José Luis Fernández. It weighs over two kilos and is 30 centimetres high. In the first edition of the Goya awards, the statuette was made by Miguel Ortiz Berrocal and consisted of a bust which could be dismantled to show a small camera inside.

The stamp depicts the statuette of the bust of Goya and the poster of the best film of the 2010 edition of the Goya awards.

Title: Spanish Cinema
Date of Issue: 9 March 2010
Country: Spain
Denominations: 0,34 €

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *