Home / Australia / Special stamps Islands of Cocos
Special stamps Islands of Cocos

Special stamps Islands of Cocos

Australia post issued set of four stamps featuring beautiful Islands of Cocos (Keeling).

The stamp issue features four of the uninhabited isles, all of which are part of the southern atoll; they are Pulu Klapa Satu, Pulu Maraya, Pulu Blan Madar and Pulu Beras (Prison Island).

Islands of Cocos

Cocos Islands, is a territory of Australia, located in the Indian Ocean, southwest of Christmas Island and approximately midway between Australia and Sri Lanka.

The Cocos (Keeling) Islands is a group of 27 islands in two atolls, with a total land area of around 14 square kilometres and a highest elevation of five metres.

Only two of the islands – West and Home Islands – have permanent settlements.

The islands are densely covered with coconut palms and tropical vegetation, and largely ringed with gravelly, white coral-sand beaches.

The designer has brought visual interest and variation to the stamps by using the sky and the horizon line as significant visual components.

The horizon operates not only as a design element, drawing the four stamps together, but it also reflects the dominance of this element when voyaging across the open ocean, as one might when travelling to the Cocos (Keeling) Islands by boat.

Special stamps Islands of Cocos

Title: Islands of Cocos
Date of Issue: 25 August 2015
Country: Australia
Denominations: 70c x 2, $1.40 x 2

Source: Australia Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *