Home / United Nations / World Heritage – Nordic Countries

World Heritage – Nordic Countries

World Heritage - Nordic Countries
The United Nations Postal Administration (UNPA) issued a set of six stamps on the theme “World Heritage – Nordic Countries” which includes five Nordic countries plus the Struve Geodetic Arc.

Heritage is our legacy from the past, what we live with today, and what we pass on to future generations. Our cultural heritage and our natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of life and inspiration. What makes the concept of World Heritage exceptional is its universal application. World Heritage sites belong to all the peoples of the world, irrespective of the territory on which they are located.

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty called the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted by UNESCO in 1972. The United Nations Postal Administration has chosen five Nordic countries and the Struve geodetic arc for this year’s stamp issue.

Title: World Heritage – Nordic Countries
Date of Issue: 5 May 2011
Country: United Nations
Denominations: US$ 0.44, US$ 0.98,CHF 0.85, CHF 1.00, € 0.62 and € 0.70

Source: http://unstamps.un.org/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *